Golden Nationals with a memory

This last week Aspen Hosted the U.S. Speed Nationals at Tiehack Mtn on the back side of buttermilk. With a good showing of local US athletes and competitors with even a few from New Zealand and Australia. Though the competition wasn’t fierce it gave the chance of local athletes to gauge themselves and crown a National Champion. I was nervous entering these races, after breaking my femur 7 weeks earlier and only being back on snow 10 days before the competition started. A finish would’ve brightened my day and a podium, my week. But at the end of these races I look back on a memory I will keep forever and lessons learned for the rest of my career. I managed 3 golds and 2 silver medals in my debut back only losing to a New Zealander Corey Peters by 11 hundredths of a second. I managed to hold on to my National speed title and I learned a lot about myself and my racing. The thing that touched my heart was that I was able to win a belt bucket for overall racer. It’s not an ordinary belt buckle, but a buckle representing these races. Races that are hosted for my old coach and friend, Sean Ramsden, who passed away late last year. A great coach and a great memory. The most punching thing though, is that I’ll be able to say. I won the first ever buckle at the first ever Sean Ramsden memorial.

IMG_0193

IMG_0182

IMG_0189

About Kurka

World cup mono skier and X Games Mono-Cross competitor. Announcer, and all around Adaptive Adventurer!! I blog for anyone who would like too see my skills and follow along on my Adventure of life! As well as to keep my sponsors updated on my recent activity. My e-mail is a.kurka@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

