Life is an adventure

After World Championships everything has relaxed and been very chill. The end of the season is always a chance to get to focus on the little things and what to enjoy instead of just ski racing. Focusing on being the best of my ability 24/7 is what keeps my going. But a chance to get to go races at the end of the season with no pressure and just a focus on fun. Is what keeps me alive. Life is truly an adventure.

After racing world champs in Panorama Canada, we had a week off and just enough time to prep for US nationals. Entering nationals we felt at ease making racing a lot easier. Remember the fun of it and stopping to smell the roses, reminding us why we do what we do. Ski race. While at Nationals in Loon Mountain I had the opportunity to meet a bunch of amazing people and even teach some new young athletes with extremely bright futures. Owen Anketell being one of them, a future adaptive athlete that will soon be dominating the circuit. Had his first races, at loon mountain, though I threw down a few gold medals and Owen was well behind. But he did something that impressed me completely. Kept a positive attitude and knew that he had nothing but time to get better. In the scene of ski racing, just like life the way I see things are very individual. We all understand things differently, but taking a moment and learning from everything you get a chance to. Will if not make you better make you understand that moment better. To handle it a bit differently next time. That’s the sportsmanship and attitude of a champion.

Now that US Nationals is over and I managed a few gold medals. Before our big fundraiser called SkiTam at the end of the season in Vail Colorado. I’m going to take some time and explore. After all life’s an adventure isn’t it!? From Loon MTN New Hampshire to Vermont and New York. Maybe even Canada! I’m a feather on the wind for a week of freedom. I’ll see where life takes me.

  

About Kurka

World cup mono skier and X Games Mono-Cross competitor. Announcer, and all around Adaptive Adventurer!! I blog for anyone who would like too see my skills and follow along on my Adventure of life! As well as to keep my sponsors updated on my recent activity. My e-mail is a.kurka@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life is an adventure

  1. Paulla says:

    your outlook of life Amazes me, what an inspiration you are! Have fun while being a Feather!

Leave a Reply

