New Zealand Winter

Mid August I was in the midst of one of the greatest places I believe I have ever visited. New Zealand, somewhere I never thought I would ever get the chance to visit much less ski in. When I arrived I was awe struck at the sheer vastness and beauty. Though I was in The Sourthern Hemisphere to get a job done and to get to work. I found I was losing myself staring into the distance riding the chair lift. Or talking to the kind and generous locals when I had somewhere I needed to be. It reminded me of home in Alaska, the pace of life is different. The perspective on life is positive and you just simply don’t sweat the small stuff. While I was there with the US Adaptive Team, we trained, in both Cardrona near Wanaka and raced in the New Zealand Games at Coronet peak near Queenstown, both on the Southern tip of the Southern Island. Though I would love to take a chance to see so much more of these beautiful islands. The skiing wasn’t bad at all. The mountainous switch backs, and weather changes, the wind and snow made the drives fun and a true adventure in the dark early mornings. With the fog, wind, Rain and ice while driving on the edge of a 1000ft cliff with switch backs. As soon as those wheels start spinning, THE CHAINS GO ON. As for the competition, speed has always been my forte, though the technical skiing in New Zealand was definitely a good experience. An experience where America did well coming out on top. Tyler Walker managed a Gold and a silver, Josh Elliot a silver and myself a bronze. It was a great reminder of a long season ahead. A chance to represent and make a good change not just in my skiing but in life. No matter where it is or what distracts me.

  Edit  
    
                  
    
   

About Kurka

World cup mono skier and X Games Mono-Cross competitor. Announcer, and all around Adaptive Adventurer!! I blog for anyone who would like too see my skills and follow along on my Adventure of life! As well as to keep my sponsors updated on my recent activity. My e-mail is a.kurka@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

