New Season, Same Life

The Early Season training is about to be underway, with the team leaving for Portillo Chile and Vale Nevado in early september. Where we will be on snow and training for a strong season to try to get the edge over our international competition. The few summer months are just about over with many of the team staying on snow and constantly training. The team as a whole, has a set schedule for dryland training and heart rate monitoring to keep us in prime physical shape to enter our season. from monthly camps at the OTC and daily heart rate monitoring we are able to use technology to help give us the edge, for our endurance both on and off the snow.

As for the summer, between the training camps at the Olympic Training Center, the traveling and the heart rate testing. I have found the time off to do those rare things that i enjoy, the unique moments to find my soul. Taking a chance, where we have traveled to enjoy the local scenery. Try new things and make the experience of lifetime, every time. From being a healthy hero for the Alaska Running Club to Snorkeling and Surfing while at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista. To fishing new remote locations in Alaska and biking the highest mountain passes i can find. To Qualifying for the Boston Marathon and hiking the highest hill i can find. Its the new experiences that will ultimately make me who i am and help my story shine. The dreams , the many dreams i have and the many ways i plan on helping others are still in full force. Just taking more time, with limited funding. Though i cannot be more thankful to all those who help and believe in me. From Netcracker Technology who funds my skiing season to the HighFives Foundation, Kelly Brush Foundation and CAF who have come together to help make my Summer Paralympic goals achievable with a new Hand Cycle. I plan on pursuing a life of adventure and unknown, moving forward, trying new things and helping as many as i can a long the way.

I cannot be more thankful for all of you who follow on my adventures and i cannot be more excited to tell you how training in Portillo and Valle Nevado turns out.

IMG_5373

IMG_5451

IMG_5461

IMG_5747

IMG_5806

IMG_5833

IMG_5919

IMG_5922

IMG_5923

IMG_5930

About Kurka

World cup mono skier and X Games Mono-Cross competitor. Announcer, and all around Adaptive Adventurer!! I blog for anyone who would like too see my skills and follow along on my Adventure of life! As well as to keep my sponsors updated on my recent activity. My e-mail is a.kurka@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

